The Alabama Workers’ Compensation Law is compulsory for all nonagricultural employers having more than four part-time or full-time employees. These employers are required to provide workers’ compensation benefits for injuries arising from or in the course of employment.
Injured workers hurt on the job by accident or disabling occupational diseases are entitled to receive money benefits for either temporary or permanent disabilities, for all reasonable and necessary medical expenses, and for vocational rehabilitation in some circumstances. Dependents are entitled to receive compensation in cases where death results.
The maximum weekly compensation payable is limited to two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly salary, not to exceed 100% of the state’s average weekly wage. The Alabama Workers’ Compensation system is a complex maze of statutes, case law, precedent, administrative codes, insurance carriers and employers. No injured worker should try to navigate this maze without a qualified attorney who practices and is very knowledgeable in Workers’ Compensation law.
Not all attorneys handle workers’ compensation claims due to their complexity. Mr. Carter has successfully handled over 100 workers’ compensation claims; recovering over a million dollars for his clients and ensuring they receive the benefits to which they are entitled. Contact Maxwell D. Carter Attorney at Law LLC if you or a loved one has been injured on the job. We look forward to assisting you.
How many employees must an employer have to provide workers’ compensation insurance?
All private employers are obligated to provide workers’ compensation insurance if they employ five or more persons.
What do the Workers’ Compensation Laws cover?
The Workers’ Compensation laws are designed to reimburse employees who are injured as a result of employment and are therefore unable to perform the work that accompanies their job.
What are the three kinds of Workers’ Compensation benefits available?
There are compensatory benefits, medical benefits, and death benefits. Compensatory benefits compensate for wages lost as a result of injury or disease caused by unemployment.
Medical benefits cover the cost of all necessary medical treatment that results from the injury. Death benefits are paid to the dependents of an employee who dies within three years of a work-related accident.
What are the four categories of compensatory benefits?
Temporary partial benefits are paid to those employees who cannot perform their regular work due to their injury, but are still able to do some work. Temporary total benefits are paid to those employees who are completely disabled temporarily, and are paid two-thirds of their regular weekly earnings. Permanent partial benefits are paid to those who receive specific injuries based on how debilitating the injury is. Permanent total benefits are paid for the duration of an employee’s disability and is equivalent to two-thirds of the employee’s weekly earnings.
How long can a dependent of an employee who has died as result of an accident on the job receive death benefits?
The dependent will receive $3000.00 for funeral expenses, and will continue receiving benefits for 500 weeks or until the remarriage or death of the dependent.
What should an employee do if he or she is injured on the job?
The employee must provide their employer with a written notification of the injury within five days in order to receive benefits, however this mandate has been significantly manipulated and liberalized as to what is good notice by case law precedent.
For strong representation from a lawyer dedicated to maximizing your benefits, call Maxwell D. Carter - Attorney & Counselor at Law now at 205-967-2509. There is no obligation to hire, and we collect no fees unless we make a recovery or settlement on your behalf.